Humbly Grateful or Grumbly Hateful?

Just wanted to share a quick bit of scripture that leapt off the page at me this morning in my one year Bible reading. I think mine has turned into a three year Bible but that is a whole other story! I was reading in 1 Corinthians. It was listing some of the sins of Old Testament Israel in this order; idolatry, sexual immorality, testing the Lord and grumbling. Huh? Does it seem to you like one of these things is not like the other? If you are like me, I often feel justified grumbling. Apparently, God doesn’t see it that way.

It also listed the consequences that went with the various offenses. In one day, 23,000 of the sexual immoral died. Those who tested the Lord were killed by snakes. I figured that comparatively grumbling isn’t THAT bad and should be a slap on the wrist, right? “And do not grumble, as some of them did- and were killed by the destroying angel.” (I Cor 10:10) Gulp!

And why does he share this story? “These things happened to them as examples and were written down as warnings for us, on whom the fulfillment of the ages has come.” (I Cor 10:11) So, today, I’m considering myself warned and walking in obedience about the sin of grumbling.

Corn Casserole (Has no connection to this whatsoever. Don’t grumble!)
1 can corn undrained
1 can creamed corn
1 cup sour cream
1 Jiffy corn muffin mix
1 stick melted butter
Combine. Bake in a greased 2 quart casserole for an hour at 375.

5 comments
  1. krisdanko said:

    First, Beth, like you, my one year Bible reading plan is going to take me much longer than a year!! Second, I am also a grumbler and what a statement that we shouldn’t be doing that and what God truly thinks of that. Lesson learned, i will watch the grumbling!! Thanks for the recipe–my mother in law makes this all the time and I love it!!

  2. Marlene said:

    Wow! I had not ever had that scripture jump out at me. Now to not grumble as I obey with delight and without hesitation. Thank you for showing me how I am failing and sinning. Have a blessed day.

    • Hi Marlene. Thanks for reading! I’m always so humbled when anyone reads a blog. God really impressed on me today to write about that. I’m a grumbler from way back so it was pretty convicting! Now I love what you said about obeying with delight and without hesitation.

  3. linda said:

    I too, have been convicted lately about my grumbling, and gee, thanks, am again now as i read this. 🙂
    It seems, indeed, that the Lord is very stubborn when it comes to getting His point across.

    Thank you for sharing, very cute and convicting post.

    • Hi Linda! Hope you enjoyed it. Glad to know that I’m not alone in the struggle with grumbling. You’re right about the Lord clearly getting his point across. Enjoy your Sunday!

Leave a comment